Who of the US presidents failed to get re-elected? The full list!

City2map / Articles
One term club: which US presidents failed to get re-elected? Full list!

In American electoral history there were 10 presidents who did not succeed in being re-elected for the second term.

Three US presidents (James K. Polk, James Buchanan and Rutherford B. Hayes) initially promised to serve one term only, so they do not count. Let's name these guys who didn't manage to be re-elected by the American people.

  1. John Adams, 1797-1801
  2. John Quincy Adams, 1825-1829
  3. Martin Van Buren, 1837-1841
  4. Franklin Pierce, 1853-1857
  5. Benjamin Harrison, 1889-1893
  6. William Howard Taft, 1909-1913
  7. Herbert Hoover, 1929-1933
  8. Jimmy Carter, 1977-1981
  9. George Bush (the father), 1989-1993
  10. Donald Trump, 2017-2021

Please share the link with your friends: